Downshift

To the sixteen people who care: I need to take a fast time-out from the blog slog for a week or so. Need to put in some steady work on the new manuscript I’ve been writing. This is because all the pieces I pretend like I just shoot off in 20 minutes while sitting in my cafe actually consume an embarrassing amount of time to write and edit.

In the meantime, here are my favorite pieces from 2015 so far:

Potential

#TBT: Land of 5,000 Virgins

 Snapshot: The Korean Workplace

Thursday

Letter to My 17 Year-Old Self

Now Write a Blog Post

America: First Observations

Expensive Lunch Among Rich People

Of course I’ll still be keeping up my hype man duties by re-blogging some great stuff from the Conceited Crusade blog, which will keep rolling along as scheduled. The other writers on that site have really been crushing it, so give them a follow and check out their personal blogs for more.

Expect more hackneyed bullshit from your boy Fred to start running in this space during the middle of next week.

Colton, out.

7 thoughts on “Downshift

  1. “This is because all the pieces I pretend like I just shoot off in 20 minutes while sitting in my cafe actually consume an embarrassing amount of time to write and edit.” <—The moment you find out you're a real writer like Pinocchio finds out he's a real boy.

    1. I hope one of the hallmarks of getting better at writing include producing fewer words per day because you are more careful with them–because that’s what’s happening with me.

  2. Let me clarify that I did not hit “Like” for the fact that you will be taking a break from blogging since your blogs are freshly humorous, but I’m glad you are giving your followers a heads up that you won’t be dropping us like hot potatoes. I hope your manuscript writing goes well. Take care.

  3. Wish you the best during this sabbatical … if you can call it that cuz you’re going to be working on the novel … Well, whichever, I wish you the best 🙂 Thanks for the links to pieces you favor – it’s always a good place to start. I’ve been to the other blog once – – I’m going to need to set some time aside to walk around that site — a LOT to digest.

    1. Thanks man. I am a writer so I need all the help I can get. The blog has new stuff every day and the writers are great. I think you’ll dig whatever you come across over there.

Leave a Reply

