Six Clichés

image

We have clichés for a reason. Even that previous sentence (cliché #1) was a cliché. I usually avoid them but I’ve got to use a few right now. Because I’m trying to think of the last time I felt exactly like this and I think it was when I was a kid on Christmas morning (cliché #2). When I was maybe I was 11 or 12.

I just put my book out today and had prepared myself for it to just be a drop in the bucket (#3). I moped around all afternoon looking at my workout shirts marinating in summer sweat on the floor. Making peace with the prospect of forever being a no-name exile. Always scribbling in an Asian café and hoping for something good to happen.

But even if that’s my destiny, that’s OK. Because of days like today. The response so far from you all has been overwhelming. I’ve been getting blog comments and tweets and emails from you all about it and it means the world to me (#4) that you’re taking a chance on my book. I hope you like it. If you don’t then tell me how to improve, and I’ll make damn sure you like the next one.

For everyone who follows the stupid nonsense on my blog, thank you. You don’t know how much that means to me (#5).

It’s Friday night and I’m out in Seoul right now doing cliché Fred Colton shit. But I can’t focus on celebrating. I had to duck into a café to write this on my phone. Tonight is the end of an arduous, conceited, overcaffeinated journey I started four years ago. It wouldn’t mean anything without you all.

So, from the bottom of my clichéd heart (#6), thank you.

Fred

5 thoughts on “Six Clichés

  1. Best of luck, buddy. I know this feeling, the tension and the expectation and the elusive validation and the overall “what the fuck have I just done?” sensation. Deep breath, ride the wave, stay grounded. You could be a footnote or Jesus in the next few months, doesn’t matter either way, you rock as a writer. Cliche #7: Get your ass back in front of the laptop and start the next one, because you should always have more…

    1. Already back at the laptop. You’re absolutely right about that. Thanks for your kind words, sir. As a writer the words mean the most. Let’s hope we both end up becoming Jesus.

  2. Good job man, after months here, I’m doing one final run through. Seriously food and sleep mean little to me right now, I wanna pull my dam hair out if I could until I finish re reading Evercadia one final time. I keep telling myself 20 pages a day that’s all you need to read just 20 pages.. Well good luck to you

    Sent from Evercadia

Leave a Reply

