Postmortem

New (very) short story over on the Crusade. Life, death, family, memories and the future:

Conceited Crusade

Prompt: “raw.”

You died on Sunday. Just a few hours after I’d left your bedside to go sleep at home. At least I didn’t have to hold your hand when it happened. Even though our relationship was a fully broken thing, from wire to wire, it still would have killed me.

When I came back to the hospital they’d moved you, but your stream was ready for viewing. I said I wanted to watch it and they took me down to this white room that made me feel like I was inside an egg. There were muted lights and a long screen on the wall. I sat on this deep couch and use the tablet to scroll through your life. It was all there, the “raw footage.” Incredible amounts of it. I searched around for things I recognized and just went from there. They said they can only do a…

View original post 179 more words

Leave a Reply

