Internet Superstar

Ideally I could be Fred Colton all the time. Damn, that guy can talk, every line on his site is laced with charisma… But he only exists online, Fred is not real. Out in the real world it’s just me, contributing nothing of value to any given situation, wearing some boring pants like khakis as I suck the energy out of the room.

It doesn’t make sense. I write at night, hit publish and then my brain just burns up all the material. Wake up in the morning with an empty head, struggle to come up with interesting, compelling shit to say. It usually doesn’t work out, usually I drive my conversations off a cliff. Everything else in the world, you get better at it the more you do it. Everything but talking. Start life awkward and you’ll finish it that way.

I want to break cover and put the blog on my Facebook. But then I’d never get hired anywhere. Still, it would be fun to say: look at this secret life I have. One time I wrote a thing that got 60 WordPress likes. I’m boring in real life but I’m hot shit in a fake world, is what I’m saying. Why aren’t you wet yet.

21 thoughts on “Internet Superstar

  1. Posting your blog on Facebook is overrated. I do it every now and then and pretty much no one I know gives a damn. Turns out my friends don’t care about my deepest darkest thoughts lol! Hahaha…haha..he….cough.

  2. Had my experience with having my anonymity violated and it was infuriating. As much as I’d love to share my bared soul, it ain’t worth it until I’m making enough money doing it so I can hide. You’re a brilliant writer and I hope you get the kind of good exposure you deserve. 🙂

  3. Ditto. This isn’t my real name either. I’m thinking of changing my real (whatever real is) name to this one. Once you buy into the ‘like’ game and start getting big like numbers then you’re hooked. Too much responsibility, trade off, compromising, always fishing for then next big like…screw that.

  4. At least we have some place where we can express ourselves and create a whole new world, right? We have something to divert our attention to. And that makes sense for me. hehe

  5. Ugh! The struggle is real! When I talk about my blogging life, people look at me like I’m a fringe of society type of person, “look at her with her cute little blog” type of thing. It’s not fucking cute, damnit! It’s the shit!! If you only knew, you’d be worshiping me too! But I treasure my anonymity too much. (Or what’s left of it) Because then I’d have to filter my thoughts and that would be tragic. Ah, that felt good to let out. Thanks, Fred! 😉

Leave a Reply

