Mission Abort

12932794_10100358706925927_3943103572682150039_n

Day 9 in Hanoi. I ran past a restaurant where five guys were drinking around a table with a gold bust of Ho Chi Minh. I was going to make a snide comment about Communist personality cults but then I remembered Obama has George Washington’s head in the Oval Office. Idol worship: only crazy if foreigners do it. Everything is only crazy if foreigners do it.

The heat. April 1st it was like they flipped on a big blast furnace. Too hot to wear my suits and pocket squares. Probably a good thing; there’s brave poor people here and I’d get mugged if I kept that shit up. Today it was the gym, shopping for the new place, finishing Stephen Hunter’s book about the JFK assassination. I’m now firmly in the Oswald + CIA camp. The heat, plus that book, is making me think truly dumb shit. Everything is a conspiracy! I’d be famous by now but the Jews run the world, and I’m not Jewish!

That’s ok. At least I’ve got beer, coffee, quiet nights with a good girl. Most of the time it’s enough to forget the maddening truth that I’m a prisoner to my destiny, my patterns, and life’s continued acceleration…

…All right, cut. That’s all for now. I was starting to repeat myself but you shouldn’t do that, so I stopped writing.

I wanted to write more tonight, to fulfill my pathological need to prove myself every day, but I just read through some of my old posts and realized: goddamn, my blog is really good. Even if no one reads it. I’m just gonna back off and let it be good for a little bit. Gonna drink some more now. Go away.

 

11 thoughts on “Mission Abort

  1. ‘but I just read through some of my old posts and realized: goddamn, my blog is really good. Even if no one reads it’

    1) It IS good.
    2) I DO read it.

Leave a Reply

